In the beginning…of this blog.


A while ago, as many that will read this know, I had a opportunity to take some time and write. I by no means am a writer. Actually if you decide to read this blog you will see that I don’t spell or punctuate very well at all. I’m not sure why that is as I had wonderful schooling with teachers that cared, or at least seemed to, but I never got the writing piece very well.

I am not sure what I will end up writing about as I wrestle with talking about what I do, digital marketing. Or what I like to do, watch New York Giants Football or write about my adventures. I think till it takes shape that I will write about anything that comes to mind. I hope that you will contribute and write your thoughts as well.

So today I am thinking about happiness. I was inspired today by Matthieu Ricard, a Buddhist Monk and a TED talk that he did a few years ago. As I do everyday, I spend my morning walk to work listening to TED talks. Most I don’t understand, but I listen anyway. I highly recommend you get in the habit of listening to TED every morning. I realized during this walk and throughout the day how unhappy people are. I mean truly unhappy. Almost in tears, unhappy. I wonder why? I suppose people think they are suffering and I suppose that based on my experiences of the last 10 years I have a different version of suffering. I know that I know longer get upset if a car pulls out in front of me or if the woman at Dunkin Donuts forgot my bagel or if when I get into work something from the night before wasn’t done or done correctly. I guess those things just don’t matter any long. If they are wrong, then they are wrong.

So what I learned this morning and I will try to remember were the habits of people that are happy.

1. Let it go. The past is the past and there is absolutely nothing we can do about what happened a minute ago. Live in the present.
2. Appreciate the simple. As Andy Warhol said, “You have to be able to be happy about nothing at all.”
3. Being happy is not easy and it takes practice. But it is possible.
4. Don’t believe what you mind is telling you unless you see it or hear it for yourself.
5. Value the people in your life.
6. Get focused, stay focused on your passions in life.

Anyway thanks to some incredibly unpleasant times over the past 10 years, this is what I learned.

Leave a Reply

